Sunday 29 November, 2020

Guyana: Regional Democratic Councils leaders elected

Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of several Regional Democratic Councils (RDC) were elected in Guyana today.

At the March 2 Regional and General Elections, the ruling Peoples’ Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) won Regions One, Two, Three, Five, Six and Nine while the A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) coalition won districts Four, Seven, Eight and 10.

The 18 councillors of the PPP/C chose Ishan Ayube as the Chairman of Region Three. He will be supported by Vice-Chairman Omesh Satyanand.

Ayube had previously served on the RDC as Vice Chairman.

The Region Four RDC, which houses Guyana’s capital Georgetown, will be led by the APNU+AFC’s Daniel Seeram.

Seeram, who is a former Captain in the Guyana Defence Force, will be assisted by Neilson Mckenzie.

The PPP/C has chosen to keep David Permaul Armoogan Region Six Chairman while Zamal Hoosein will be his Deputy.

Community activist, Kenneth Williams was chosen by the APNU+AFC to lead Region Seven. He was previously a councillor in the Region. Nageswari Kamala Persaud was elected as his Vice-Chairman.

In region nine, Bryan Allicock was retained as Chairman and the 15-member council elected Bertie Xavier to serve as the Vice-Chairman.

Region 10 will be led by the APNU+AFC’s Deron Adams (Chairman) and Douglas Gittens (Vice Chairman).

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: